吃出年轻的生理年龄

民以食为天。我们都听说过营养对我们的健康至关重要,但有可能通过食物改善我们的生理年龄吗?

根据 这项研究 [1] 根据表观遗传学权威专家、功能医学博士卡拉-菲茨杰拉德博士的研究[1],确实如此!

在这项研究中,参与者必须每周食用这些食物:

  • 2 杯深色绿叶蔬菜(如羽衣甘蓝、菠菜、羽衣甘蓝)
  • 2 杯十字花科蔬菜(如:西兰花、花椰菜、大白菜)
  • 3 杯彩色蔬菜(白薯和甜角除外) 
  • ¼ 杯南瓜籽
  • ¼ 杯葵花籽
  • 1 至 2 个甜菜
  • 肝脏或肝脏补充剂(每周三次,每次 3 盎司)
  • 1 份自由放养的有机鸡蛋(每周 5-10 枚)
  • 6 盎司有机、无激素/抗生素动物蛋白

他们还被要求每天食用一份以上的甲基化适应剂。甲基化适应素是一种支持 DNA 甲基化的食物,而 DNA 甲基化是控制基因表达的一个过程。根据这项研究,推荐的甲基化适应素包括:

  • ½ 杯浆果,最好是野生浆果
  • 2 瓣中等大小的大蒜
  • 2 杯绿茶,冲泡 10 分钟
  • 3 杯乌龙茶,冲泡 10 分钟
  • ½ 茶匙迷迭香
  • ½ 茶匙姜黄

除此之外,参与者还被要求服用益生菌和绿色粉末。

但食物真的就是一切吗?

不尽然。虽然营养至关重要,但它只是众多表观遗传开关中的一个。 要扭转我们的生理年龄,我们需要考虑其他生活方式因素,如睡眠、压力和体育锻炼。

在这项研究中,参与者还需要跟踪所规定的生活方式的改变。其中包括 

  • 每天喝 8 杯水 
  • 每天至少锻炼 30 分钟、 
  • 睡了 7 个小时、 
  • 每天进行两次呼吸练习 
  • 在一天的最后一餐后禁食 12 小时。

有趣的是,参与者对指导原则的遵守率仅为 80%,但她们仍然在生理年龄方面取得了积极的成果。这个由 6 名女性组成的小组在短短两周时间内就成功地将她们的生理年龄平均降低了 4.6 岁。

像国王一样吃早餐,像王子一样吃午餐,像穷人一样吃晚餐。

进餐时间也会影响健康状况。我们体内的细胞实际上表达着时钟基因和分子钟活动。 

让我们的饮食习惯与身体的自然昼夜节律保持一致,可以促进新陈代谢功能、荷尔蒙平衡、体重管理和整体健康的改善。从长远来看,这还会改善我们的生理年龄。

限时进食(TRF)是一种饮食方法,涉及限制个人进餐的时间窗口,类似于间歇性禁食的概念。不同之处在于,它通过延长人的夜间进食时间来优化不同之处在于,它通过将一个人的夜间禁食时间延长至 12 小时或更长时间来优化昼夜节律。

另一项研究 [2] 研究表明,与较晚摄入早餐(晚上)的小组相比,优先摄入早餐并在一天开始时吃得更多的小组在体重减轻、低密度脂蛋白胆固醇、空腹血糖和胰岛素抵抗方面的减幅更大。

晚上的糖耐量和胰岛素敏感性较低,在这段时间进食会增加代谢功能障碍的风险,从而可能对生物年龄产生负面影响。 

现在,掌握了推荐食物和进餐时间的知识,您就可以开始大步迈向更美好、更健康的自己,并扭转您的生理年龄! 

参考资料

1.Fitzgerald, K. N., Campbell, T., Makarem, S., & Hodges, R. (2023, March 22).为期 8 周的甲基化支持性饮食和生活方式计划可能逆转女性的生理年龄:系列病例。衰老》,15(6),1833-1839。https://doi.org/10.18632/aging.204602。

2.Young, I. E., Poobalan, A., Steinbeck, K., O'Connor, H. T., & Parker, H. M. (2022, December 18).全天能量摄入分配与减肥:系统回顾与荟萃分析》。Obesity Reviews, 24(3). https://doi.org/10.1111/obr.13537

3.Mason, I. C., Qian, J., Adler, G. K., & Scheer, F. A. J. L. (2020, January 8).昼夜节律紊乱对葡萄糖代谢的影响:对 2 型糖尿病的意义。Diabetologia, 63(3), 462-472. https://doi.org/10.1007/s00125-019-05059-6

4.Vujović, N., Piron, M. J., Qian, J., Chellappa, S. L., Nedeltcheva, A., Barr, D., Heng, S. W., Kerlin, K., Srivastav, S., Wang, W., Shoji, B., Garaulet, M., Brady, M. J., & Scheer, F. A. (2022, October)。晚期等热量进食会增加饥饿感、减少能量消耗并改变超重和肥胖成人的代谢途径。细胞代谢》,34(10),1486-1498.e7。 https://doi.org/10.1016/j.cmet.2022.09.007

马来西亚功能医学医生

作者:
Dr. Shirley Koeh
日期: 2023 年 8 月 2 日
2023 年 8 月 2 日

使用 Fabric.js 3.5.0 创建

Eat Your Way to a Younger Biological Age

We are what we eat. We’ve all heard about how crucial nutrition is for our health, but is it possible to improve our biological age with food?

According to this study [1]  by Dr. Kara Fitzgerald, leading expert in epigenetics and functional medicine physician, it certainly is!

In the study, participants were required to consume these weekly:

  • 2 cups dark, leafy greens (eg: kale, spinach, collard)
  • 2 cups cruciferous vegetables (eg: broccoli, cauliflower, bok choy)
  • 3 cups colourful vegetables (except white potatoes and sweetcorn) 
  • ¼ cup pumpkin seeds
  • ¼ cup sunflower seeds
  • 1 to 2 beets
  • Liver or liver supplement (three 3-ounce servings per week)
  • 1 serving of free range, organic eggs (5–10 per week)
  • 6 ounce organic, hormone/antibiotic free animal protein

They were also asked to eat more than one serving of methylation adaptogens daily. Methylation adaptogens are foods that support DNA methylation, a process that controls gene expression. Based on the study, recommended methylation adaptogens include:

  • ½ cup berries, preferably wild
  • 2 medium garlic cloves
  • 2 cups green tea, brewed 10 minutes
  • 3 cups oolong tea, brewed 10 minutes
  • ½ tsp rosemary
  • ½ tsp turmeric

Apart from that, participants were also asked to take probiotics and green powder.

But is food really everything?

Not quite. While nutrition is vital, it is only one of the many epigenetic switches.  To reverse our biological age, we need to consider other lifestyle factors such as sleep, stress and physical activity.

In the study, participants were also required to track the lifestyle changes that were prescribed. Some of them are: 

  • drinking 8 cups of water a day, 
  • exercising for at least 30 minutes daily, 
  • sleeping for 7 hours, 
  • practising breathing exercises twice a day and 
  • fasting for 12 hours after their last meal of the day.

What’s interesting is that participant adherence to the guidelines was only 80%, and yet they still garnered positive outcomes in regards to their biological age. This group of 6 women managed to bring down their biological age by an average of 4.6 years in just 2 weeks time.

Having breakfast like a king, lunch like a prince, and dinner like a pauper.

Timing of meals also affects health outcomes. The cells in our body actually express clock genes and molecular clock activity. 

Aligning our dietary habits with our body’s natural circadian rhythms can promote improved metabolic function, hormonal balance, weight management, and overall health. In the long run, this will also improve our biological age.

Time restricted feeding (TRF) is a dietary approach that involves limiting the time window during which an individual consumes their meals, similar to the concept of intermittent fasting. The difference is that it optimizes circadian elements by extending a person’s nightly fast to 12 hours or more.

Another study [2] shows that groups that prioritized breakfast and ate more at the start of the day resulted in greater reduction in weight loss, LDL cholesterol, fasting glucose, and insulin resistance compared to groups with later intakes (during the evening). 

Glucose tolerance and insulin sensitivity is lower in the evening, and eating during that period of time puts one at an increased risk of metabolic dysfunction, which may affect biological age negatively. 

Now equipped with the knowledge of the recommended food and meal times, you can start taking significant strides towards achieving a better, healthier version of yourself – and reverse your biological age too! 

References

1. Fitzgerald, K. N., Campbell, T., Makarem, S., & Hodges, R. (2023, March 22). Potential reversal of biological age in women following an 8-week methylation-supportive diet and lifestyle program: a case series. Aging, 15(6), 1833–1839. https://doi.org/10.18632/aging.204602

2. Young, I. E., Poobalan, A., Steinbeck, K., O’Connor, H. T., & Parker, H. M. (2022, December 18). Distribution of energy intake across the day and weight loss: A systematic review and meta‐analysis. Obesity Reviews, 24(3). https://doi.org/10.1111/obr.13537

3. Mason, I. C., Qian, J., Adler, G. K., & Scheer, F. A. J. L. (2020, January 8). Impact of circadian disruption on glucose metabolism: implications for type 2 diabetes. Diabetologia, 63(3), 462–472. https://doi.org/10.1007/s00125-019-05059-6

4. Vujović, N., Piron, M. J., Qian, J., Chellappa, S. L., Nedeltcheva, A., Barr, D., Heng, S. W., Kerlin, K., Srivastav, S., Wang, W., Shoji, B., Garaulet, M., Brady, M. J., & Scheer, F. A. (2022, October). Late isocaloric eating increases hunger, decreases energy expenditure, and modifies metabolic pathways in adults with overweight and obesity. Cell Metabolism, 34(10), 1486-1498.e7. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.cmet.2022.09.007

Functional medicine Malaysia doctor

Author:
Dr. Shirley Koeh
Date:
02 August 2023

Created with Fabric.js 3.5.0